Brand Break Down: Old Navy

Hello there fellow earth dwellers! Oh it has been a week. Have you ever had one of those weeks that just perpetually feels like Monday? It’s been one of those weeks. But, I did find out today that I have been accepted into grad school!! I now have a head ache from excitement and just being generally overwhelmed so I thought I would go ahead and start this post πŸ™‚

Sooooo, let’s talk about Old Navy. Honestly, this is a brand that was once dear to my heart. I worked at Old Navy throughout college and loved it. I found out that I love fashion because of that job and made life long friends. I thought that, with all of this in mind it would be interesting to tell you why I no longer shop at Old Navy

Where is this clothing made and who made it? I used to work shipment at Old Navy and suddenly had to deal with the question of where my clothing comes from and who makes it. Most of this brand’s clothing is made in countries that have a reputation for poor work conditions (think sweat shops, overcrowded factories, etc) and little ethical workplace standards. While Old Navy/ GAP Inc. do state on their website that they require vendors in their supply chain to sign a “Code of Vendor Conduct” and the “Vendor Compliance Agreement” there is no third party monitoring work conditions and labor standards. Also, there is nothing to ensure that people working at these suppliers are paid a livable wage. This is all very important, for me at least, when we recognize that the majority of Old Navy clothing is made in places like Sri Lanka, Philippines, China, and Bangladesh and other countries that do little to ensure the welfares of their workers and still have problems with child labor. While Old Navy (GAP Inc) says they do not condone any of these known issues, this is just not enough for me.

What materials are used? Old Navy uses a lot of cotton. Their denim is cotton and many of their shirts are cotton. Yes, cotton is a natural fiber. However, cotton crops are very stressful on the soil and the environment. They require lots of water and are typically heavily treated with herbicides and pesticides. Don’t get me wrong, this southern girl loves a cotton shirt or dress on a hot summer day and cotton denim is my fave! I just wish they used organic cotton, which is grown from non-modified plants, cannot be treated with synthetic chemicals, and uses less water. (Here’s a link for more reasons organic cotton is the bees knees!) Old Navy also heavily relies on synthetic materials like rayon, polyester, and spandex- ie plastic. Did you know that when you was these synthetic materials they release microplastics into the water (I’ll address how to prevent this in a later post!) I realize that synthetic materials are pretty much essential for things like active wear (any other yoga pants lovers?) but there are ways to use recycled plastic for this purpose.

Are they Certified? A quick look at the Old Navy website provides the answer. While they are taking initiatives to decrease the amount of water that they use, have committed to phasing out plastic bags by 2023, and recycle their plastic hangers I could not find any proof of sustainable certifications. Unfortunately, the sustainability section of their website is a small box with three bullet points that do not tell the consumer much. Remember, it is not entirely your responsibility as a consumer to be eco-conscious. Brands and companies share a much bigger part of this responsibility than they often want to take on and they should be held accountable.

How did these clothes get to me? If clothing is made oversees it has to get make its way to consumers somehow. By boat, by plane, by truck or train (Dr. Seuss moment anyone?) carbon emissions…are to blame? πŸ™‚ I looked all over Old Navy’s website and could not find any information about how they are offsetting carbon emissions and if they have any plans to. I even searched “Carbon” in their search bar hoping for something and was rewarded with grey leggings. If they are taking steps to reduce or offset emissions they don’t say much about it.

Other questions to ask: Some other questions to ask when shopping are as follows… “Is it well made?” Clothing at Old Navy is made for a lower price point and usually not made to withstand time. I try to look for clothing that is made well enough that it can be circular (worn by me, given to someone else, worn by them, and repaired when necessary, the cycle of the piece keeps going.) “Do I truly need this?” Yes, this one is more on you and has less to do with the brand. But it’s a question worth asking. Do you need it? Will you wear it? Are you only buying it because it is trendy (Even though they offer many timeless and classic clothing, Old Navy keeps up with the trends too, so it’s easy to fall into this fashion pit). “Do they produce at a sustainable scale?” Like I said, I worked shipment so I know- Old Navy makes a TON of clothing. We had so much clothing coming through that store. Unfortunately, Old Navy does encourage the fast fashion consumerism mindset. Constant sales and advertising campaigns ensure a steady stream of new merchandise. Customers are encourage to shop often and buy in excess.

All of this being said, it’s easy for me to say that Old Navy is not a company I choose to purchase from. While they do great things (Community involvement; volunteering with and donating to local Boys and Girl clubs; encourage diversity and women equality in both the workplace and society, and support important social matters) they are just not doing enough in the way of sustainable actions and eco-friendly practices for me.

What do you think? Do you shop at Old Navy? What other stores would you like to see a brand breakdown of? June is just around the corner and I have new ideas ready for summer blogs. Be sure to follow me so you don’t miss any new posts! πŸ’š

Leave a comment